11 Replies Latest reply on Apr 14, 2011 11:43 PM by JsnKrst9

(Looking For Advice) Potential HP Z800 Build

JsnKrst9

Hey everyone.  I am looking into building a HP Z800 workstation (buy the case/motherboard/power supply) and then the rest of the stuff separately.  I am currently a web developer who is looking into AVCHD 1080p video editing and possibly 3d modeling (Mercury support is fairly critical).  I have a budget of roughly $2,500 to build this rig.

I am looking also to have the ability to expand in the future, thus why a dual processor motherboard.  I'd like to start with a strong base and eventually expand it.   Please feel free to critique and let me know what you think

Case:

HP Z800 Case with 1150Watt Power Supply

http://cgi.ebay.com/HP-Z800-Base-Unit-FF825AV-DVDRW-HP-Heat-Sink-KB-Mouse-/350451043141?pt =Desktop_PCs&hash=item5198828b45

CPU:

Intel Xeon E5645

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819117256

RAM:

12 GB ECC 1333 Value Ram (3x 4GB Sticks)

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820139270

Hard Drive:

Kingston SSDNow V100 128GB

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820139413

Hard Drive:

Caviar Black 1TB, Sata 6Gbps

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16822136533

Graphics:

eVGA 570GTX HD Superclocked

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814130620

Blu-Ray:

LG 12x BluRay Burner

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16827136226

O/S:

Windows 7 x64 Pro

Free

(I may find parts cheaper elsewhere: Amazon, etc)

• 1. Re: (Looking For Advice) Potential HP Z800 Build
          Bill Gehrke Adobe Community Professional & MVP

Welcome to the forum.  Since you are relatively new here please take a look at the PPBM5 Benchmarking site for the results that Harm and I have as a resource for you.

Personally I would skip the SSD and get more RAM.

• 2. Re: (Looking For Advice) Potential HP Z800 Build
            RjL190365 Level 4