3 Replies Latest reply on Apr 12, 2011 11:07 AM by Brushman1000

PrE 9 external hard drives

Brushman1000 Level 1

Hi, I'm new to the forum.

I have recently bought PrE 9 and think it's fantastic, but I have a few questions.

I have an external 1 TB hard drive (NTFS,) and have been storing my unedited videos on it, and I would like to keep my edited ones there too... as I have little to no experience of editing and using PrE, I want to know exactly which files I should be storing where? Any advice would be very welcome.

Also I had a big problem installing a program recently, and the long and short of it was that I had to re-image Windows 7, ouch, so I am very keen to get it right first time with PrE, in terms of file storage.

Any other tips as to good practice would be helpful too.

many thanks,

brushman

• 1. Re: PrE 9 external hard drives
          the_wine_snob Level 9

Welcome to the forum.

First, take a look at this ARTICLE on external HDD's.

As for a workflow, one has to decide exactly what they want to do, and how they want to do it. Here are some thoughts, based on my general workflow, using my laptop (only computer with PrE on it) and external HDD's. Some of this will probably not apply, as I migrate my Projects between my laptop, and a workstation.

I create the Project folder structure on an external (FW-800 in my case, but eSATA would be even better). Under that structure, I create the sub-folders, that I anticipate needing. These will be Videos, Audio, SFX, Still Images, Finished AVI's, Finished AC3's, Titles, etc., and then I will Copy my Assets to the appropriate sub-folder. The originals stay on my NAS unit for safety. All stills will have been worked on in PS, and Scaled to the Frame Size of the Project, regardless of the resolution of the originals.