12 Replies Latest reply on Apr 18, 2011 10:07 AM by the_wine_snob

PP CS5 Rendering and subsequent encoding issues...

kaywert

Hi

I am relatively new to video editing and PP, but I have gotten so far in the process of creating a 1 hour 50 minute project consisting of a few video clips, JPEG visuals, audio voice tracks and Flash SWF files.

On rendering the project as a whole, it will get nearly two hours down the line and simply crash. I split the project into three separate parts, basically three lots of 35 minutes and renered it ok.

I'm now going through the process of exporting via Adobe Media Encoder into MPEG-2 format, the first two files exported OK, but the third, which is quite SWF heavy will only get so far before AME just hangs, the time elapsed counter freezes as well as all the other time counters.

On the whole, I'm finding that PP is not so great, it seems a very unstable application. On openning these projects I will invariably get  "A SERIOUS ERROR" warning and the app shuts down. Most frustrating. I have tried running the adobe clean up program, and uninstalling and reinstalling.

I've looked high and low on the web for assistance to no avail. I really hope someone is able to help me resolve this, as it's now consuming a heck of a lot of unecesarry time!

Thanks for any input : )

• 1. Re: PP CS5 Rendering and subsequent encoding issues...
          Todd_Kopriva Level 8

What version of Premiere Pro? (I.e., have you installed the recent updates?) What operating system? What other software are you running? Do you have any third-party effects or codecs installed? Tell us about your computer hardware. Are you using Mercury Playback Engine GPU Acceleration?

• 2. Re: PP CS5 Rendering and subsequent encoding issues...
            kaywert Level 1

Hi Todd

Thank you, and sorry, I thought I had listed my OS/Hardware in my signature!

I'm using an Apple iMac (mid 2010) 3.2 Ghz i3, 4GB ram, ATI Radeon HD 5670 and Mac OS 10.6.6.