6 Replies Latest reply on Apr 15, 2011 10:16 PM by maxwyss

Improving performance of scripts in a PDF form

angelsfury77

Hello there.  I'm a bit new to the scripting in Acrobat and find myself with a complex form that has a number of instances (about 70)  of the following script (specific to individual fields):

event.value=this.getField("Ranks").value + this.getField("Mod").value + this.getField("MiscMod").value;
      var trained = "Untrained";
      var skill = "Ranks";
      if ( (this.getField(trained).value != "On" ) && (this.getField(skill).value < 1)) {
      event.target.textColor = ["G", 1]; }
      else {event.target.textColor = ["G", 0];}

The code works fine, but with this many instances, performance of form is sluggish while updating. In addition, there are approximately 200 simple addtion fields being used.

I'm looking for any advice, scripting or otherwise, to help improve performance.

Thanks so much in advance.

• 1. Re: Improving performance of scripts in a PDF form
          try67 MVP & Adobe Community Professional

First of all, if the script is identical, except for the names of the fields

you're using, you should really consider placing it in a document-level

function that takes the names of the fields as parameters. It will save a

lot of extra code and will make maintenance much simpler.

I don't see any real way to improve the efficiency of this simple script.

The only thing I can think of is not to define variables for the names of

the fields in the if-statement. Since you're only using them once, just

enter the actual name into getField.

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Improving performance of scripts in a PDF form
            maxwyss Level 4