7 Replies Latest reply on May 16, 2011 6:53 PM by virtual alicia

Help needed: triggering a combo box selection

docSquale

I'm new to creating forms in Acrobat (Acrobat 9 on Mac). I'm trying to create a form for my department where a student selects a faculty name from a combo box, and once the value is selected, another field is filled with an int value (course section number).

Question: what is the correct trigger for executing the javascript for this? Mouse up seems to trigger too early and the others don't seem appropriate.

I think my rudimentary JavaScript knowledge can get me far enough to check the value and the use a switch/if to prefill the int value in the other field, so the correct trigger is my current issue.

Thanks in advance.

• 1. Re: Help needed: triggering a combo box selection
          MarkWalsh Level 4

All you need to do is set the 'Export Value' in the combo box for each name to the course number, then set the calculate event of the text field to

event.value = this.getField("Combo Box1").value

Make sure you change 'Combo Box1' to the name of your combobox (spell it exactly as it is named, including case)

• 2. Re: Help needed: triggering a combo box selection
            virtual_alicia

Is this the same code for Acrobat X on Windows Vista?

Also, where do I store the master list, or as it's called by thomp in "Programming List and Combo Fields...-Part 1,"an object literal[ly] stored in the document?"

• 3. Re: Help needed: triggering a combo box selection
              gkaiseril MVP & Adobe Community Professional

The object is stored as a document level script.

Have you downloaded the sample and looked at all of the coding, including the document level items.

• 4. Re: Help needed: triggering a combo box selection
                virtual_alicia Level 1