6 Replies Latest reply on Apr 15, 2011 9:09 AM by Colin Brougham

Importing EX3 footage, no video only audio [HELP]

Andre.se

Hello, i'm a media student shooting a fairly decent sized project. The camera i have available is a Sony cam shooting in the EX3 format.

The problem i have is that when exporting footage into premiere, it shows only audio. The icon is classified as an audio file, and it refuses to show the video track at all, so pretty much no video only audio. Now i haven't used premiere since forever and as such i am completely clueless as what might be off. I tried updating to the latest version(5.0.3) but no dice.

Premire gives me the following info on the video file:

QuickTime Details:
      Movie contains 1 video track(s), 2 audio track(s) and 1 timecode track(s).

Video track 1 contains 1 type(s) of video data:

Video data block #1:
      Frame Size = 1280 x 720
      Compressor = XDCAM EX 720p50 (35 Mb/s VBR)
      Quality = Normal (3,00)
      Temporal = Normal (3,00)

So anyone have an idea on how i get this working? A project setting or and update i´ve missed? Or do i just have to download the codec itself in some shape or form? Extremely thankfull for any help.

/ André

• 1. Re: Importing EX3 footage, no video only audio [HELP]
          Colin Brougham Level 6

Andre,

No Sony shoots to XDCAM MOV, that I'm aware of. A couple of JVCs do, or, if you used an EX3 and shot to MP4, Final Cut Pro will rewrap those as MOV when you Log and Transfer. The JVC clips will import into CS5, but the Log and Transfer MOVs will not. Do you know the actual chain of command as far as how these clips were created?

Are you on a Mac or PC?

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Importing EX3 footage, no video only audio [HELP]
            Andre.se Level 1

Hmmm yes it was taken out of the memory with a program called XDCAM transfer onto a mac, this might be what's causing the troubles?

I'm on a PC currently.