9 Replies Latest reply on Apr 19, 2011 3:15 AM by the_wine_snob

Letterboxing

N@omi

I'm just learning, so my question will be silly to most of you, though I'm getting very passionate about video editing already. And need advice! I have a video of over 10 years ago with bad letterboxing, what is the best way to crop those at least a bit? I tried dragging the video margins towards the outside and got pillarboxing in rendering. Not nice...

• 1. Re: Letterboxing
          Steve Grisetti Adobe Community Professional

What format is the video in? Where did it originate?

How is it letterboxed -- left and right or up and down? How badly is it letterboxed? Is it a 4;3 video or a 16;9?

Most likely you'll be able to just right-click on the clip on the timeline, select Show Properties and then, in the Properties panel, go to the Motion properties and set Scale to 135%.

But this will only work if your project is set up properly and you're willing to lose a little video from the top and bottom or left and right.

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Letterboxing
            the_wine_snob Level 9

Letterboxing (top and bottom), or Pillarboxing (on the sides) indicate a mis-match between the footage, and the Project Preset. These should match 100%.

The best way, and place, to address this is when the Project is created. To get the full specs. of your old video, you can run it through the great, free utility, G-Spot, and it will tell you all the details. Make note of those, and especially Frame Size and FPS. Go to New Project, and choose a Preset that matches. If you have NTSC, 720 x 480 @ 29.97 FPS and a PAR (Pixel Aspect Ratio) of 0.9 (Standard 4:3), you will want to choose an NTSC DV Project. Then, when you Import that foootage, and place it onto the Timeline, things will match.