16 Replies Latest reply on Apr 18, 2011 8:36 AM by the_wine_snob

Premiere can't find source files for project

ROTIDE MLIF Level 1

I am fairly new to CS5 and have been working on a editing project lately.

I also added a new 1TB SATA drive to my PC as a backup drive. In order to add the new drive, I had to re-install my OS so I could utilize both drives in AHCI mode.

Well I was smart enough to back up all my source files for the project I was working on to my new drive; but when I re-installed CS5, it can't find the source files now.

I tried manually entering them in there, but then it locks up and goes unresponsive.

Nothing has changed, except the location of the files....so do I need to put the files on my C: drive to fix this, or what?

All help is appreciated as I am about to pull my hair, out because this is a national project I am working on.

• 1. Re: Premiere can't find source files for project
          Colin Brougham Level 6
          I tried manually entering them in there, but then it locks up and goes unresponsive.

What do you mean by this?

All you should have to do is open up your project, and then use the dialog that appears to find the first file that is missing. Once that is relinked, Premiere should relink all or most of the files; if any are missing it will continue to ask until all are relinked.

• 2. Re: Premiere can't find source files for project
            Jon-M-Spear Level 4

When PP is loading, it should prompt you for the location of the source material it cannot find.  Provided that all the source material locations remain relative to each other, PP should find all the material.

Failing that, if you skip all when PP prompts you, in the Project Window you should see all the source material listed, but indicated by the Offline Media icon.  Right click on the icon (Multiple select all the icons) and re-link the media, directing PP to their new location.

Sometimes PP can take forever on its first re-link.  Be patient!