3 Replies Latest reply on Apr 17, 2011 3:36 AM by Brushman1000

PAL or NTSC?

Brushman1000 Level 1

I'm very new to this, so please forgive me if I ask any daft questions. 

My camera is a Sanyo Xacti CG-100 that uses MPEG-4 AVC/H. 264...

I'm in the UK so I would imagine that setting project presets to PAL would be correct, but when I installed PrE 9 I might have overlooked this, I'm not sure, but it may have been set to NTSC, when I create a new project and change the settings from NTSC to PAL, and then within the project drag one of my clips to work with it, I get a warning saying; "mismatched project settings preset" the format of the clips you are adding do not match the project settings. For best results you should use a project preset that matches your clips do you want to change the project settings to match your clips?" When I click yes, it automatically selects NTSC and there don't appear to be any problems with that... So how important is it that it is set to PAL, if I'm the UK based? Or is there any chance that this is happening because I didn't set it up as PAL when I installed PrE?

Hope that made sense...

Thanks,

brushman1000

• 1. Re: PAL or NTSC?
          the_wine_snob Level 9

Being in the UK, you should be using PAL for both your Projects, and also for the shooting mode on your camera, if it offers PAL & NTSC. Many do, but some are Region-specific. Check your camera and its settings.

Now, besides the Region, there are other factors, such as Frame Size, FPS, etc., that must match also. Insure that they do.

If one set an AVCHD Project, but their footage was AVCHD-Lite, or something else, there would be a mis-match, and this would not be good. Issues can certainly crop up.