10 Replies Latest reply on Apr 16, 2011 1:11 PM by JEShort01

Video card differences/opinions

Derek Snyder Level 1

I'm building a video editting system and am trying to decide on video card. Would appreciate any advice/thoughts on the following. I was hoping to keep it in the $200-300 range. Here are 4 that I'm looking at:

HIS H687F1G2M Radeon HD 6870 1GB 256-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.1 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFireX Support  $184

EVGA SuperClocked 01G-P3-1563-AR GeForce GTX 560 Ti (Fermi) 1GB 256-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Support  $229 ($259)

MSI N460GTX Hawk Talon Attack GeForce GTX 460 (Fermi) 1GB 256-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Support $179 ($209)

EVGA 015-P3-1482-AR GeForce GTX 480 (Fermi) SuperClocked 1536MB 384-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI - $339

I'm not experienced enough to see much difference or know what I need.

Here is the rest of thew build:

Intel Core i7-960

12gigs gskill ripjaw ram

ASUS Sabertooth X58 Mainboard

C: (O/S & Programs) WD VelociRaptor 150GB  or Intel SSD 120GB

D: Western Digital Caviar Black WD1001FALS 1TB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA

E: (Editing Drive) WD Cavier Black 1TB

F: (Pagefile/Scratch/Render) WD Cavier Black 1TB

Thanks for any advice!

Derek

• 1. Re: Video card differences/opinions
          RjL190365 Level 4

Derek,

For Premiere CS5, skip any of the AMD or ATi GPUs (this means no Radeons with CS5): CS5's MPE GPU mode does not support any of the AMD or ATi GPUs at all. Instead, MPE will run in software-only mode, which is slower and of lower quality than MPE GPU mode. Stick with the three GeForce GPUs - but make sure that you apply the cuda_supported_cards.txt tweak. Otherwise, MPE will default to software-only mode which the three cards in question.

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Video card differences/opinions
            Derek Snyder Level 1

Thank you!

I do remember seeing that in a forum before but hadn't processed the info. No Radeons w/CS5.