7 Replies Latest reply on Apr 19, 2011 7:33 PM by the_wine_snob

Disk Burning Problem after latest Win7 update

RGSJr

I've been running PE8 (8.0.1) on a Win7x64 box for quite some time; burning DL DVD's with no problem.  Win7's latest set of patches was installed a couple of days ago.  Since then PE8 is telling my DVD burner is "unsutable" for burning DVD's.

I've got to get to the bottom of this, but I thought I'd ask here if anyone else has had this problem pop up.

Yes, the DVD player still plays DVD's and Music CD's.  I'm reluctant to put other burning software on it to see what happens.  I'm just starting out to try and solve the problem so I thought I'd ask around.

Thanks

Bob

• 1. Re: Disk Burning Problem after latest Win7 update
          the_wine_snob Level 9

Bob,

Welcome to the forum.

When something works one day, but not the next, then something has changed.

With a multi-drive, my first course of action would be:

• Check for firmware updates for that burner from the mfgr's. Web site and install the latests.
          • In Control Panel>System>Hardware>Device Manager (or similar syntax in Win7), I would remove the burner, and then reboot, letting Windows find it, and install any drivers. While there, first look to see if there are any warnings, errors, etc.

If that does not help, create a System Restore Point for today. Shut down, and reboot into Safe Mode. Choose System Restore Point, and choose one from when it worked well. Test. All you have to loose is a bit of time, as you created that System Restore Point for today. If necessary, see Win7's Help File.

Good luck,

Hunt

• 2. Re: Disk Burning Problem after latest Win7 update
            the_wine_snob Level 9

Also, from the Desktop, Rt-click on the PrE icon, and choose Run As Administrator. Does that get your multi-drive back?

Good luck,

Hunt

• 3. Re: Disk Burning Problem after latest Win7 update
              RGSJr Level 1

I've been doing some experimenting.