3 Replies Latest reply on Apr 21, 2011 9:09 AM by Dave Merchant

pass pdf pageNum to SWF or EXE

tx51chevy

I'm new to acrobat and acrobat's scripting API to say the least. Please forgive me if this is a NOOBIE question... but I just can't find any forums online that explain how to do this.

Basically, I have PDF files that range between 100 and 1000 pages at my workplace. What I'm trying to do is add a button that dynamically opens a corresponding swf or exe file for that page.

I know you can pass flashVars using the Multimedia Flash Tool option... but as far as I know you have to manually set a static value to pass. If there was a method you could use to dynamically send the current pageNum of the PDF file... that would work...

The other way I've tried is to create a button and onMouseUp Run a JavaScript... problem here is, I can't figure out how to open a file other than another PDF file. I used the method this.pageNum to get the current page of the PDF file... but I can't open a SWF or EXE this way. Theoretically what I would be trying to do here is something like this:

var currentPageNum = this.pageNum+1;
      app.openDoc('myswf'+currentPageNum+'.swf');

Your help is greatly appreciated!

Again, I apologize if this is noob stuff. Just started reading about all this last week!

Thanks,

Brad

• 1. Re: pass pdf pageNum to SWF or EXE
          Dave Merchant MVP & Adobe Community Professional

You can't open anything other than a PDF file with the app.openDoc method.

• 2. Re: pass pdf pageNum to SWF or EXE
            tx51chevy Level 1

Thanks Dave for replying.

Unfortunately, I am aware that openDoc will only open PDF's. That example is what I'm trying to do theoretically.