0 Replies Latest reply on Apr 20, 2011 2:41 PM by senilegenius

Problem connecting to Data/Service outside web root

senilegenius

I'm new to Flash Builder (4.5). I work in an environment where developers have full access to a specified folder and subfolders on a Windows box running IIS 7 and ColdFusion 9.

So the path to the services-config.xml looks like this (server and folder names have been changed, but the structure is the same):

\\servername\flex$

Path to coldfusion root looks like this

\\servername\coldfusion9$

The developers don't have write access to those areas. What we have is

\\servername\webteam$\webcontent\app1

\\servername\webteam$\webcontent\app2

And so on

Then our server admin sets up virtual servers so that our urls look like http://app1.ourdomain.co, app2.ourdomain.com, etc.

I set up a project specifying ColdFusion as the server technology and using the above paths and everything works

I've run set up a couple Hello World tests using <mx:RemoteObject destination="ColdFusion" source="app1.flextest"></mx:RemoteObject> and everything works as expected. (No database connections, just a function that returns a string)

The problem is when I try to exploit the magic of Flash Builder and use the Connect to Data Service feature to write my queries for me : )

I select ColdFusion

In the CFC location I enter

\\servername \webteam$\webcontent\app1\cpa\flextest.cfc

Which is the same working cfc I connected to manually in my Hello World test. Flash Builder automatically populates the Service Name, Service Package, and Data Type Packages and I click next. I enter my RDS password and I then get this error:

The CFC file is invalid. Possible causes can be found by accessing: http://app1.ourdomain.com//CFIDE/componentutils/cfcexplorer.cfc?method=getCFCMetaData&name =flextest&path=%2Fwebcontent%2Fapp1%2Fflextest.cfc

Copying and pasting the url into my browser I get this error: