9 Replies Latest reply on Apr 21, 2011 3:59 PM by Kristin95762

Where to go after I create a spark.component.window

Kristin95762 Level 1

I'm new to Flash Builder and have a little experience with AS3.

I've been looking through a lot of tutorials and all of them are pretty much the same when it comes to showing how to create a custom window component. After that the silence is deafening.

Could you please point me in the right direction as to how to actually code the window functionality?

I have a main window with a list box on it. When I doubleClick an item in the list I open up a new window. This app is a sqlite app. I want to add/edit items in the new window. I'm stuck about how to port the selected item data from my main window to the new window and add new stuff to my database.

Currently I have my ActionScript in a separate file (Main.mxml, Main.as). Would I handle this similary with my custom window, such as customWindow.mxml and customWindow.as?

Maybe this requires a custom class and in that case I'm stumped.

Thanks

Kristin

• 1. Re: Where to go after I create a spark.component.window
          Flex harUI Adobe Employee

Yes, a CustomWindow.mxml is the answer.

• 2. Re: Where to go after I create a spark.component.window
            bucpatr1 Level 2

I'm assuming you want to actuallydisplay the new window in a PopUp rather than as a subcomponent of Main.mxml right? In that case what you would do is add an event listener to your list that calls a method in Main.as when an item in the list is double clicked. You would pass whatever data the new window needs to have about the selected item along as parameters of the handler method. Inside the handler method you would then do the following,

1. Create a new instance of your custom window.

2. Set the fields of the custom window component to the values passed into the handler method as parameters.