9 Replies Latest reply on Apr 28, 2011 5:40 PM by UKChristopher79

Can not open CR2 files from a Canon 600D in PSE

UKChristopher79

Hi

Ok i will put my hand up and say i am very new to PSE, I have updated the software and have the latest camera raw plug in, but for some reason i can not open the raw files created by my 600D.

Can anyone help, or am i going to have to convert them.

Sorry if this has been asked before, but i couldn't find any posts

Chris

• 1. Re: Can not open CR2 files from a Canon 600D in PSE
          ssprengel Adobe Community Professional & MVP

The 600D should be supported in ACR 6.4 which is currently in beta so you'll have to wait until it's released, probably within days or weeks, for native support within Elements.

While you're waiting, you can download the beta version of the DNG Converter 6.4 from Adobe Labs and use that to convert your CR2 files to DNGs which will open in older versions of Camera RAW.

http://labs.adobe.com/

Follow the Camera RAW 6.4 RC link and eventually you'll get a link to download the DNG Converter 6.4 RC.

The Camera RAW 6.4 RC installer will only run if you have Photoshop, not Elements, so you can't use that, yet, but you can use the DNG Converter.

Because the DNG Converter and Camera RAW 6.4 are in beta status there could be differences in how the RAW photos look compared to when you get the released version of ACR 6.4 but probably not too much difference.

• 2. Re: Can not open CR2 files from a Canon 600D in PSE
            Noel Carboni Level 7

You didn't mention what version of PSE...

Just to add one small thing...  I don't think there's been an announcement about whether Camera Raw 6.4 will allow installation into Elements 8.  That the beta does not doesn't say the release won't, but at some point we can anticipate that Adobe will cut off adding new support to older versions of Elements.

-Noel

• 3. Re: Can not open CR2 files from a Canon 600D in PSE