2 Replies Latest reply on Apr 25, 2011 2:37 AM by AnnaP1983

Turning random sprites invisible?

AnnaP1983

Hi

I am trying to work out a script to fade five sprites, one at a time, in a random order, any suggestions? The sprites should stay faded until all others have been faded. I can turn the sprite invisible using the script below rather than fading, but not sure how to do this random on 5 different sprites?

sprite(31).blend = 0

Im a beginner so apologies if this is a silly question!!

A

• 1. Re: Turning random sprites invisible?
          Production Monkey Level 3

The basic idea behind fading a sprite is to change its blend over time using an "enterFrame" event. Controlling when this happens to a set of sprites is best done using a global control object.

You will need to use one each of the three different script types - ie Parent, Behavior, and Movie.

I wrote all the code for you. If you take the time to read through it and to step through it while it is running, you will be able to learn quite a lot.

Copy and paste the following code into a Behavior script. You can then drag this script onto as many sprites that you want to fade out.

--  Sprite FadeOut Behavior

global  gFadeMaster

property  pMe  -- this sprite
          property  pInc  -- amount to change blend with each "enterFrame" event. Negative float
          property  pCurBlend  -- current value to set the sprite blend to. float
          property  pFading  -- is the sprite currently fading?  true or false

On GetBehaviorDescription me
            return "Sprite FadeOut."
          end GetBehaviorDescription

On GetPropertyDescriptionList me
            Props = [:]
            Props[#pInc] = [#default:-1.5, #format:#symbol, #Range:[#min:0, #max:-10.0], #comment:"Blend Change each EnterFrame."]
            return Props
          end GetPropertyDescriptionList

on beginSprite me
            pMe = sprite(me.spriteNum)  -- store reference to this sprite