6 Replies Latest reply on Apr 28, 2011 11:24 PM by Ankur Arora

Dynamic lookup using flex?

blizzam

Hi Folks -

You know when you are typing a string in a search engine and as you type, options that match what you've typed so far appear in a box below the input field?  I'm trying to recreate that kind of funtionality using flash/flex.  Ideally, a keyup/press event would query the back end and have new data returned, which would populate the box with appropriate data.

I'm new to flex and don't know much about mxml.  This could very well be something that is achieved easily, but I don't even know where to start.  Does anybody know how I could achieve something like this on the front end?  I'm not so concerned about the data and where it's coming from than how to make the UI part.

Any help would be great!

• 1. Re: Dynamic lookup using flex?
          ScalaEnthusiast

What you want to do is relatively simple but involves a few steps. Querying the back-end everytime you type a character can get expensive. If the dataset you need to filter is small enough then you can load it into the client side and do the filtering there:

1) Get your data from the backend and store it in an arrayCollection, etc., on the client side.

2) Bind the dataset to a datagrid to display in the user interface.

3) Write a filterfunction for the dataset that will search for the substring you type in, within the dataset.

4a) Use the "change" event for a TextInput to trigger the filterfunction (everytime you type a character, the dataset will get filtered.)

4b) Call refresh on the dataset to reload the view with the "filtered" data - this should be done in the handler for the change event, after filter is applied.

I hope that helps.

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Dynamic lookup using flex?
            JeffryHouser Level 4

This is called AutoComplete.  If you google there a a bunch of AutoComplete components out there.