7 Replies Latest reply on Apr 30, 2011 7:13 PM by jeremy d.

Timeline shows "forbidden" sign

Sakulise

I'm trying to import still images (PNG) into the timeeline, but no matter where I drag them... the cursor turns into a forbidden sign.
      It wont allow me to drag the folder, all the images or a single image. Everywhere in the timeline, the cursor shows a forbidden sign.

What am I doing wrong?

I'm new to Premiere, and my teacher doesn't know the answer to the problem... so I would much appreciate some help on this issue!

Thanks

• 1. Re: Timeline shows "forbidden" sign
          Colin Brougham Level 6

The Timeline panel is different than a sequence; more specifically, the Timeline panel is where sequences are displayed and can be operated upon. I suspect you don't have a sequence loaded into the Timeline panel. If you create one--either manually through the File > New > Sequence command or by dragging your clip to the New Item button at the bottom of the Project Panel--you'll be in business.

• 2. Re: Timeline shows "forbidden" sign
            Sakulise Level 1

But didn't I make a new sequence when I started the program?

I'm following a school video on how to do it, but it's made for Windows. And somehow my Premiere wont let me do the same thing as in the video.

I start a new prosject, and a new sequence. With all the details to match my stills (made in 3ds Max).

Then my first problem was that it wouldn't let me import the folder with the rendered outputs as in the video. All kinds of other images from completely different places in my folder system got imported instead. So my teacher told me to mark all the stills in the folder, and import them that way.

That worked. I now have all the correct stills in the top left box where it says "Project:" and then my project name.