2 Replies Latest reply on Apr 29, 2011 12:25 PM by SueC2009

Master page or CSS to control width of text column on intro page?

SueC2009 Level 1

Hello all,

I hope this question isn't too basic, but I'm pretty new to Robohelp 9 and to CSS.

I would llike to control the formatting of my "introduction" page (the first page that is loaded when the help opens). I'm using Webhelp.

I have defined a master page for this first page. It includes a banner image at the top and an image with our company logo which is the same width of the banner.

I would like for the text on that first page to be, maximum, the width of the banner. I would like for the text to wrap if the user's window is narrower than that width, but if the window is larger than the banner width, I'd still like for the text not to exceed the banner width.

Any ideas as to how I can achieve this?

Thanks.

Sue

• 1. Re: Master page or CSS to control width of text column on intro page?
          Captiv8r Adobe Community Professional & MVP

Hi Sue

SueC2009 wrote:

Hello all,

I hope this question isn't too basic, but I'm pretty new to Robohelp 9 and to CSS.

I would llike to control the formatting of my "introduction" page (the first page that is loaded when the help opens). I'm using Webhelp.

I have defined a master page for this first page. It includes a banner image at the top and an image with our company logo which is the same width of the banner.

I'm a bit confused by this. Generally you use a Master Page in order to either apply something such as Headers, Footers or Placeholders across many topics. Or to create a template that is used as a common starting off point for new topics. It seems a bit of overkill to me to create a Master Page for only one topic. Unless, of course, you are using the Master page for a single topic that you will create for hundreds of different projects.