7 Replies Latest reply on Jun 13, 2007 2:12 PM by kglad

Variable in a button

Geisen Level 1
      I'm not a developer, I'm a mere designer so please bear with me.

I'm trying to build an interactive presentation with an autorun.

To accomplish this, I start the flash movie with a frame action assigning the variable "p" a value of "0"

var p
      p = 0;

Then I use a button with a keypress to play a movie clip. (This works fine)

on (keyPress "a") {
      tellTarget ("_root.autorunon") {
      play();
      }

}

In the movie clip' "_root.autoruinon"s timeline, I reassign the value of "p" to "1"

var p
      p = 1;

And the later in the clip I tell the play-head to make a choice. If "a" was depressed, "p" would equal "1" and the movie clip would go to a specific marker and play. Otherwise, If "a" wasn't depressed, "p" would equal "0" (because of the frame action) and the play-head would go to another specified marker.

if (p = 1){
      gotoAndPlay("b");
      }
      else if (p = 0){
      gotoAndStop("brand buttons");
      }

Well, unfortunately, it doesn't work and I have no idea why. When the play head gets there, it proceeds as if "p" equals "1" regardless of whether or not I've depressed the "a" key.

Any help on this would be most appreciated.

Thanks!

• 1. Re: Variable in a button
          kglad Adobe Community Professional & MVP
          use double equal (==) for comparison testing. otherwise, you're using the assignment operator.

also, you may have a path problem. the p=0 statement may not be on the same timeline as the p=1 statement. if they are both on the _root.autoruinon [sic?] timeline, there won't be a path problem. otherwise, there will be.
          • 2. Variable in a button
            Geisen Level 1
            quote:

Originally posted by: kglad
            use double equal (==) for comparison testing. otherwise, you're using the assignment operator.