11 Replies Latest reply on May 4, 2011 1:22 AM by Harm Millaard

Internal or external raid

kmaultsby@live.com Level 1

I have a Cooler Master Full tower case and I have seven hard  drive in it total, and it has four large fans so I don't think cooling  will be a problem.  I going to use four drives  for raid.  I was  thinking of purchasing a internal raid controller and set it up as a  raid 5. Or is it better to use  an external hard drive case? I will not be moving from computer.

• 1. Re: Internal or external raid
          JEShort01 Level 4

Internal sounds like a great plan for your system; less expense, less connectors (vs. external solutions) to cause issues, and the case you have already sounds up to the job!

• 2. Re: Internal or external raid
            Harm Millaard Level 7

Internal raid is far easier and less expensive. A big tower can easily hold 8 or more disks, especially if you use drive cages from Supermicro or Chenbo. I currently have 17 disks and 2 BRD burners internally with room for 2 more disks.

• 3. Re: Internal or external raid

"Quote: I currently have 17 disks and 2 BRD burners internally with room for 2 more disks"

WOW! That's a lot.  What is the size of your power supply?  Any recommendation on controller that our not too expensive?

• 4. Re: Internal or external raid
                Harm Millaard Level 7