4 Replies Latest reply on May 2, 2011 9:19 AM by John T Smith

New to Premiere. Need help!

roodolf2075

Hello guys, I am new to Premiere and there are some things I would like to know before I can use the program for my video business. I am currently editing in Vegas Pro. I really like Vegas, but I figured there's nothing wrong with learning Premiere as it's supposed to be 'better'. So here are some basic stuff I need to know how to do:

How do I add a track effect? For example, if I am color correcting, but I don't want to individually apply filters to every clip. It would take A LOT of time to be redooing a color correction filter for every single clip (I do music videos where there can be thousands of mini clips). So how can I just add a filter to the whole track so that every clip on that track can automatically be affected? I know it should be possible since Vegas, who's supposed to be not as good, can do it.

How do I move Video and Audio tracks? It seems that all audio tracks are at the bottom, and all video tracks are at the top. What if I want one audio track to be at the top? What if I want to put a video track between 2 audio tracks? Can audio tracks only stay at the bottom, and video tracks on top? If so why is that? What are the advantages of doing it like that?

How do I do a simple fade in/fade out without applying a transition filter?

When setting the preview resolution, it only lets me go down to 1/4 resolution. How do I go to 1/8 or 1/16?

What are some of you guys' favorite tools? Where can I learn them? What are some cool tricks or shortcuts that every Premiere editor should know?

What are some great websites where I can find free tutorials? I really want to know the basics and keep on learning. Is there like a videocopilot.net equivalent for Premiere?

Thanks for reading. Please fill me in. Thanks. As I edit there will be more questions coming up.

• 1. Re: New to Premiere. Need help!
          Jim_Simon Level 8