8 Replies Latest reply on May 4, 2011 1:59 AM by Harm Millaard

playback lags with animation still sequences

mdharman Level 1

I am an animator and recently changed from rendering at SD (720 x 480 - 0.9) to HD 720p. I render a sequence from the 3D software for each shot. Premiere Pro CS5 almost quits when I get the sequences in. Most projects I work on are between 30 seconds and 1 minute. The image sequence are 24 bit targas (1280 x 720 - square). The machine is a new PC - Windows 7; processor Intel Core i7 quad - 2.8 gigahertz; 8 gig of ram; 300 gig hard drive; video card - nVidia GeForce GTX 470. Any ideas how I can get the playback to quit lagging?

• 1. Re: playback lags with animation still sequences
          Harm Millaard Level 7

Add at least two SATA 7200 disks and possibly increase memory to 16 GB.

• 2. Re: playback lags with animation still sequences
            mdharman Level 1

Thanks for your quick reply. The hard drive is a 300gb 7200 rpm sata drive. There is 200gb worth of free space on the hard drive. With 8 gig of RAM and 200 gb of hard disk space on a 7200 rpm sata drive, it is hard to imagine that I would need more for a one minute animated short.

• 3. Re: playback lags with animation still sequences
              Jim_Simon Level 8

Ideally you want three hard drives at a minumum - one for Windows and Programs, one for Projects and Scratch files, and one for Media.  You can always add more, but less is generally not a good idea.

• 4. Re: playback lags with animation still sequences
                Kevin-Monahan Adobe Employee

What are the dimensions of the stills?

• 5. Re: playback lags with animation still sequences
                  Harm Millaard Level 7

Look here: Adobe Forums: System requirements for CS5

Your system is below minimum requirements.

• 6. Re: playback lags with animation still sequences
                    mdharman Level 1