13 Replies Latest reply on May 4, 2011 9:00 AM by nshores

How do you create an interactive floor plan in flash using AS2?

nshores

I am attempting to make an interactive floor plan.  I am sure that I have done it wrong, I am new to flash.  So far I have outlined the rooms that I want to make "hot spots", turned them into buttons. Then I selected all the buttons and turned it into a movie clip called "mcbtns".  I then turned it into a movie clip again, named it "mcbtninside"; this is where I house all of my buttons which have instance names "btn1" thru "btn11".

The images that corrospond with the rooms of floor plan are housed in a movie clip named "mcPhotos".  On the timeline the photos are place at 10 frame increments, and the Action Script time line above them has frame names "img1" thru "img11", which corrospond with the photos every 10 frames.  Frame 1 on the AS line has the code stop();

Now back to Scene 1...

Scene 1 frame 1 on the Action Script line I have in the following script:

mcPhotos._visible = false;

this.mcbtns.onRollOver = function() {

mcPhotos._visible = true;

};

this.mcbtns.onRollOut = function() {

};

stop();

In frame 1 on the Action Script line within "mcbtninside" I have the following script:

var frameNum:Number;

function photoChange(){

_root.photos.gotoAndPlay("img" + frameNum);

}

btn1.onRollOver = function(){

frameNum = 1;

photoChange():

}

btn2.onRollOver = function(){

frameNum = 2;

photoChange():

}

The code continues thru btn11.

So I am sure that I have gone wrong in many places.  If someone could lead me in the right direction I would greatly appreciate it.

• 1. Re: How do you create an interactive floor plan in flash using AS2?
          Ned Murphy Adobe Community Professional & MVP