7 Replies Latest reply on May 10, 2011 6:19 AM by the_wine_snob

Lip-Synced Music Videos for YouTube?

Haskins002 Level 1

I have been creating music for 20 years (home studio), and would like to create videos for some of my original songs (currently on mp3 or wav files), then upload to YouTube.  I know virtually nothing about video or video editing.   I was wondering if Premiere Elements would be a good editing application for my purposes.  For each video, someone would film multiple video takes of me lip-syncing to a pre-recorded song.  Is Premiere Elements sophisticated or precise enough to allow excellent synchronization between separate video clips and an audio track for lip-syncing purposes?  Would you recommend something else (for PC)?  Thanks.

Greg

• 1. Re: Lip-Synced Music Videos for YouTube?
          the_wine_snob Level 9

Greg,

Welcome to the forum.

PrElements can edit the syncing to Frame Accuracy, or about 1/30th of a second. This ARTICLE, while talking about OOS (Out Of Sync), will give tips on doing the syncing.

Now, as Video is limited to 1 Frame accuracy, you have some limitations there. Still, that ~ 1/30th sec. is usually close enough.

If you need more accuracy (on the Audio end - not the Video end), then PrPro allows one to work at Audio Sample-Rates with the display of Audio Units. One can align/edit the Audio to those for ~ 1/48,000th of a sec. Remember - Video will ONLY allow you to do full Frames, so the FPS will determine the frequency for the Video.

Good luck,

Hunt

• 2. Re: Lip-Synced Music Videos for YouTube?
            Haskins002 Level 1

Thanks Hunt for responding so quickly. 

When I clink that OOS link, I keep getting "an unexpected error has occurred."

Do you know of any posts that discuss people specifically using P.E. for lip

synced video and so I might be able to determine if the 1/30 accuracy and ease

of making fine tune edits makes P. E. a good choice for my purposes?