22 Replies Latest reply on Jun 15, 2011 8:23 AM by the_wine_snob

Question

lindaewen1 Level 1

Hi,

I have grabed video 8 footage from an old sony handycam video recorder onto my pc & I am trying to transfer them onto my portable hard drive so that I can view them on tv. I am very new to this, so please make it as simple as possible please if anyone has an answer.

Regards,

Linda

• 1. Re: Question
          Steve Grisetti Adobe Community Professional

First, what did you use to get the 8mm footage into your computer? What specific device?

Second, what types of video files did it produce on your computer? What is the suffix behind the file? .avi? .mpg? mp4?

Finally are you sure your TV is capable of playing video off a hard drive? What device do you have for playing this video and, if you know, what formats of video files is it capable of playing? (If you don't know, at least tell us the name and model of the device so we can look it up.)

• 2. Re: Question
            lindaewen1 Level 1

Thanks fo your prompt reply, sorry if I sound a bit vague.

1. Eminent Video Grabber.

2. avi,  mpg, wmv, mov,

3. Yes tv already playing of hard drive.  Hard drive is a screenplay pro plus.

Thanks,

Linda.

• 3. Re: Question
              lindaewen1 Level 1

Hi Steve,

I forgot to mention I have managed to get some on, but the quality is poor!!

• 4. Re: Question
                lindaewen1 Level 1

Hi me again!

One I managed to put on was Indeo (r) video r3.2. AVI. but quality was very poor!!

• 5. Re: Question
                  the_wine_snob Level 9

Linda,

What video formats and CODEC's can your TV handle?

Indeo is a very old CODEC, and was never very good, when it was current.

Before we recommend better options, it would be helpful to know what the choices would be.

Good luck,

Hunt

• 6. Re: Question
                    lindaewen1 Level 1

Hi Hunt.

My TV is a JVC, HD Digital & the hard drive is connected via HD cable.  The TV is Just over 2 years old.

Thanks.