3 Replies Latest reply on May 12, 2011 5:20 PM by gkaiseril

Populate a text field with contents of a file ?

gapsys

Hi,

Is it possible in Acrobat / LiveCycle designer ( v9 ) to create a button on a Form that will

• Open a file
      • Read its contents into a variable
      • Close the file
      • Place the contents into a field on the form ?

I am struggling to get the correct JavaScript syntax for Opening the file ( eg H:\PA2011\Report.txt ).

I am new to LiveCycle designer/Acrobat  & JavaScript syntax & have not found any discussions on the forums with examples.

Thanks

• 1. Re: Populate a text field with contents of a file ?
          gkaiseril MVP & Adobe Community Professional

The PDF file standard does not use the Windows disk drive mapping policy within the PDF. Check the PDF Reference Manual.

Unless you want to parse a text file, look at using a tab delimited file and use the 'importTextData" method.

From the Acrobat JS API Reference:

Example 1

In this example, there are text fields named "First", "Middle", and "Last", and a data file whose first row consists of the three strings, "First", "Middle", and "Last", separated by tabs, along with four additional rows of tab-separated name data.

First Middle Last

A. C. Robat

T. A. Croba

A. T. Acrob

B. A.  Tacro

// Import the first row of data from "myData.txt".

this.importTextData("/c/data/myData.txt", 0)

Example (continued)

The following code is a mouse-up action for a button. Clicking on the button cycles through the text file and populates the three fields "First", "Middle", and "Last" with the name data.

if (typeof cnt == "undefined") cnt = 0;

this.importTextData("/c/data/textdata.txt", cnt++ % 4)

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Populate a text field with contents of a file ?
            gapsys Level 1

GKaiseril,

Thanks for your suggestion.

I had tried the same code from the API reference book but was using it in LiveCycle not Acrobat which was the problem.