2 Replies Latest reply on May 12, 2011 3:39 PM by wakeboarder

newbie question on importing from hd camcorder

wakeboarder

I purchased a Canon HFM30 HD camcorder about a month ago. The internal  memory and the SD card are about full now, but before I delete the video  files from them, I want to make sure I import the highest quality video  possible into my computer for archiving purposes. I'm a novice, and so  don't know the best settings to use. I did set the camcorder to record  at the best/highest quality, so it's an issue w/ importing the videos  via the computer software that I'm having trouble with.  I'm working on  an iMac, with iMovie (little knowledge), Premiere Pro CS5 (little  knowledge), and Final Cut Pro (never even launched the program).

I have imported the videos twice w/ iMovie....once at "Full" - I think  that brought them in at 1920 x 1080; and again at "High". The "Full"  setting seemed to take about a GB/minute of video, the High setting  quite less.

I'm willing to use any of the other programs I have (including Premiere) to import the video  as well, if they would be a better choice....I'm just not savvy enough  to know.

Can someone please point me in the right direction as to where to learn  about the best settings to import digital video from the camcorder to  the computer, depending on one's goal (this case, archiving as well as  some editing, hence the two imports mentioned above), please? I'd  appreciate it. Tutorials, books, sites, etc....any insight is  appreciated....Thanks.

• 1. Re: newbie question on importing from hd camcorder
          Harm Millaard Level 7

Keep life simple, just copy ALL the contents of your SD card to a hard disk. On PC use Explorer for that, on MAC I believe it is called Finder.