5 Replies Latest reply on May 18, 2011 5:25 PM by John T Smith

Anyone editing Canon HF S20 files w/PP-CS5?

rproulxmtl Level 1

I'm just waiting to receive a Canon HF S20 camcorder that I ordered online and wonder if there are any folks here who have edited that camera's files using PPro CS5?

Thanks,

Russell

• 1. Re: Anyone editing Canon HF S20 files w/PP-CS5?
          John T Smith Adobe Community Professional & MVP

I **think** the files are the same as my Canon Vixia HFS100... so read http://forums.adobe.com/thread/652694?tstart=0

• 2. Re: Anyone editing Canon HF S20 files w/PP-CS5?
            rproulxmtl Level 1

Thanks John,

Yes, our cameras seem very similar:

http://www.zdnet.com/reviews/compare/digital-camcorders/canon-vixia-hf-s100?productid=3348 3228

As a pro photographer I use a Nikon D3s which can produce excellent video under low light. But it lacks the 'live while shooting video' auto-focus and other features that a dedicated Camcorder offers. I was tempted to get a Nikon D7000, but read that its larger sensor and reduced depth of field made it less forgiving. Great for serious work where you know exactly what you want, but less so if you're just shooting in a random fashion. The Canon HF S20 was recommended as a camera that's easy to use and creates files that can withstand some degree of editing without having to pay 2-10x more for pro level video gear. My needs are mostly outdoor corporate events ("family day" stuff) where they need some video coverage to either project w/ a data projector, or to put into a YouTube type format for their Intranet. I think that the Canon HF S20 should do fine having read your post.

Glad I'm not hearing any warnings to stay away from this camera :-)

Thank you,

Russell

• 3. Re: Anyone editing Canon HF S20 files w/PP-CS5?

So far, I have only shot "slow moving" stuff with people (family gatherings) so don't know how well "fast moving" stuff does