16 Replies Latest reply on May 17, 2011 4:05 AM by i_dream_of_jeannie

No sound-Channel 1-Pre9

TVVince Level 1

I'm new to Pre9 so I'm on the learning curve. I'm having trouble with Ch. 1 audio on captured video. I'm capturing HDV video from a Sony Z1. Pre9 recognizes the camera during capture. Video and audio captured by the on-board stereo mic works/plays back fine in Pre9 editing, so I know Ch. 1 audio works--sometimes. In video with audio only on Ch. 2 the audio is there and it can be heard. So that seems OK. But I hear nothing with audio on Ch. 1.

First I tried some project video, then I did a test, two shots, specifically using a hand mic alternately plugged in to Channels 1 & 2. Played the two clips back in the camera. Both channels played back fine during camera. playback.  But when I capture it in Pre 9 and put it in a project and drag it to the timeline, video with Ch. 1-only audio plays in silence. Tried Audio Efx Fill Left. Nothing.

I can see the Ch. 1 audio waveform when the clip is on the timeline, yet there's no sound when the clip plays.

Any suggestions?

TV Vince

• 1. Re: No sound-Channel 1-Pre9
          Steve Grisetti Adobe Community Professional

Premiere Elements often has problems with professional video camcorders (even if they shoot in relatively standard HDV). In fact, it's usually not wise to edit video from a $3000 camcorder in a $75 program. You'd be much wiser to go with Premiere Pro, which will likely resolve your issues.

Premiere Elements is not capable of working with more than one channel of audio, for instance. (Unless you're talking about stereo right and left channels, which is very different.)

Meantime, you can try going to Edit/Preferences/Audio Hardware and ensuring the program configuration matches your hardware.

And it may help to at least know if you're working on a PC or a Mac and which operating system you're using.