10 Replies Latest reply on Aug 3, 2011 4:17 PM by QuadWord

Flex for iOS

AJDeschanel

Hi,

reading this I have a question,

how to convert my existing Flex(Air) application to to run on iPAD.

Flash Builder doesn't "like" flex so I am wondering how can I open my Flex application as a iOS application and compile as iOS, should I rewrite the app to remove Flex ?

I am new to flex, few weeks...

one more question would be for example is it possible to create an instance of spark.components.Panel within an iOS mobile application with Flash Builder ?

for some reason PFI throws some errors while converting SFW to IPA

any advice on this topic is appreciated.

thank you very much.

http://www.adobe.com/products/flex/mobile/

Flash Builder 4.5 includes full support for building  ActionScript® applications for Apple iOS. Flex support is planned to be  available later in 2011.

• 1. Re: Flex for iOS
          m1kal_ Level 2

Hi,

This question was answered several times. You could have serach on the forum ;-) (for example http://forums.adobe.com/thread/851093?tstart=90)

By the way, the iOS support for flex project will be available for the next release of Flash Builder in June. For the moment, only action script project are supported for iOS.

Regards,

Mich

• 2. Re: Flex for iOS
            AJDeschanel Level 1

Hi again

looks like FB 4.5 has support for Flex/iOS now (since June :)), but I still have some issues.

a) my AIR app is using a lot of  components (mx.controls.Alert, mx.controls.Button...Canvas, pretty much everything under mx.controls.*) which do not want to compile under iOS, looks like iOS application do not support all regular FLEX/AIR components that will work for a Desktop AIR application, am I right, ir I am just missing something ?

b) is it possible at all to convert my working desktop air app to run on iPad 2 ?

thank you very much.

• 3. Re: Flex for iOS
              kokorito Level 4

you can only use spark visual components in a mobile app