3 Replies Latest reply on May 17, 2011 11:21 AM by the_wine_snob

Rookie needs rules of thumb re: P-Pro or Soundbooth to edit audio of a video?

The Un-dr. Level 1

Hello, I'm a rookie having just purchased the CS5 Master Collection and I'm editing the video of my first skydive last week. I want to add an mp3 music track to the freefall section etc.

I've watched most of the Lynda.com "essential training" videos for both Premiere Pro and Soundbooth, but I'm still wondering which application would be best.

What are some basic guidelines or rules to decide where to edit the audio for a video? For this project, all I need to do is make the mp3 audio track start about a minute into the video and I also want to take (copy) a few short sections of the audio and insert them in different spots. Other than changing the volume level of the music at different points (which is explained pretty well in the Lynda.com tutorials), nothing really that fancy.

Thanks!

Edit: Oops! I just thought of another question: how do I convert the video file so I can play it on a Blu-Ray/DVD player and big screen TV? Right now, I can only play the DVD/video the skydiving folks sent to me on my PC.

Here is what P-Pro says about the file:

Name: "VTS_01__1.VOB

Movie, 740 x 480 (0.9091)

29.97 fps

480000 Hz-Compressed-Stereo

• 1. Re: Rookie needs rules of thumb re: P-Pro or Soundbooth to edit audio of a video?
          the_wine_snob Level 9

First, PrPro has some good and useful Audio Effects, and can edit a wide range of Audio. For everything else, there is SB, or Audition (added back to the suite in CS5.5). Your needs and desires will dictate where you do the Audio editing. I'd start with PrPro, and see if you can get what you want there. If not, take it to SB.