8 Replies Latest reply on May 18, 2011 7:29 PM by Ted Smith

Best hard disk setup

md_lasalle

Hi guys, I'm pretty new to APE9 and to video editing in general. I see in some posts where you guys suggest to have more than 1 hard drive but no one talks about the actual optimal setup.

Let's say I have a 500gb hdd running my win7 (C:\), if I add a 160gb hdd in there(D:\) what should I run where ?

Thanks for any tips.

• 1. Re: Best hard disk setup
          Peru Bob Adobe Community Professional & MVP
          1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Best hard disk setup
            md_lasalle Level 1

Just what I needed thanks a lot!

Also, I'm guessing configuring what partition does the "Exports" and the "Previews" is done inside APE9 ?

• 3. Re: Best hard disk setup
              the_wine_snob Level 9

Welcome to the forum.

With the options that you list, here are my thoughts"

Though the 160GB is a bit on the small side, if it's fast, I would actually set it up as the system/boot HDD, and use the larger one for Projects, media and Scratch Disks.

The system/boot would only have the OS, and Programs, and also probably locate the Page File on the larger HDD. That last option would be only after testing. Also, it would depend on the number of programs that I had installed. With quite a few progarms (including several Adobe suites), my 200GB C:\ is only used to less than half, at 94GB, and with a cleanup of e-mail, and Documents, I could probaly get that down to ~85GB.

Though I have a 3x 200GB SATA II I/O, I found that my Page File did slightly better on my E:\, and I have it statically managed at 10GB for my XP-Pro SP-3 OS w/ the max 4GB of RAM. If you have a 64-bit OS, and a load of physical RAM, you do not need the Page File to be nearly so large.

Now, if your 160GB is slower, is not as fast a connection type as the larger, etc., then all bets would be off.