7 Replies Latest reply on May 19, 2011 7:33 AM by Steve Grisetti

Video/Media audio balance

DrBrown55061

I created a screen shot to help explain my dilema. I have little experience in elements so far but I'm loving the program so far. Here is what my timeline looks like:

timeline1.jpg

I have an MP3 music file playing through the slide show but I transition into a video and I need the music to continue playing, like it already is, but reducing the volume by ~80%. So you would still be able to hear the voices in the video but slightly hear the music in the background. Hopefully that makes sense. I know about the reduce audio effects but it seems like more of a tool for completely fading out the audio rather than fine adjustment. Can this be done? Thanks in advance.

• 1. Re: Video/Media audio balance
          the_wine_snob Level 9

Welcome to the fourm.

I think that I understand perfectly. This ARTICLE will give you tips on attenuating the Volume of the Audio Clip.

If all is working properly with your MP3, ignore this link, but if it is not, then see this ARTICLE.

Good luck,

Hunt

• 2. Re: Video/Media audio balance
            Steve Grisetti Adobe Community Professional

Yep. Audio keyframing is exactly what you need.

• 3. Re: Video/Media audio balance
              Ted Smith Level 3

By BALANCE I presume you mean Audio level. Balance is the term used to describe the proportion of volume between left to right stereo audio channnels.

Using the Audio mixer as described in the article can be daunting to beginners.

Far easier to simply add extra markers and adjust the height of the audio volume line to suit.