5 Replies Latest reply on May 20, 2011 5:09 PM by adninjastrator

Slideshow with images, video and embedded webpages?

FlashNoobie71

Hi Flash Gurus,

I'm a software engineer with no experience of Flash. I've been asked to write a standalone slideshow app which supports images (jpg, etc), video (divx, avi) and webpages (embedded html, rss).

I've done some digging and it looks like flash with flash air could be used to produce a standalone app which would run on both windows and Linux.

Before I start this long (and difficult) process, are my assumptions correct?

Also can anybody suggest a good starting point?

• 1. Re: Slideshow with images, video and embedded webpages?
          kglad Adobe Community Professional & MVP

you're correct but unless you need some air specific features (like access to the operating system/local database), you probably don't want to use air.  air apps require installation which isn't too bad if you're trusted AND users have the adobe air runtime installed.  otherwise, it may stop users from using your app.

a flash projector file may be more suitable if installing a program (or programs) is (are) non-starters.

there are lots of flash tutorials easy to find using google.  that would be a good place to start unless you're familiar with oop and just need the api (check the flash help file for available classes, methods, properties and events).

• 2. Re: Slideshow with images, video and embedded webpages?
            Ned Murphy Adobe Community Professional & MVP

Won't there be an issue as far as embedded web pages go?

• 3. Re: Slideshow with images, video and embedded webpages?
              adninjastrator Level 4

If you are displaying images, video, and embedded web pages why not just use html web pages? assemble a mini Web site in other words.

No need for any special application to run them... pretty much every computer has some type of Web browser already built in... which would take care of the display part.