2 Replies Latest reply on May 20, 2011 6:00 AM by piplet

Help with skinning

piplet

Hello,

I am new to the flex and the concept of skinning, I was making good progress until I go stuck on one aspect which I am sure is a simple oversight.

Basically when I skin a BorderContainer  all other components within that container disappear.

This is my example component with a label "hello" inside:

<s:BorderContainer
              height="30"  skinClass="skins.defaults.footerContainer" id="footerContainer" left="2" right="2" bottom="1" backgroundColor="#000000">

<s:Label  color="#ffffff" text="hello" />

</s:BorderContainer>

and here is the skin (mostly just a png as a backgroun image)

<s:SparkSkin xmlns:fx="http://ns.adobe.com/mxml/2009"
                   xmlns:s="library://ns.adobe.com/flex/spark"
                   xmlns:fb="http://ns.adobe.com/flashbuilder/2009"
                   xmlns:mx="library://ns.adobe.com/flex/mx"
                  >

<s:states>
              <s:State name="normal" />
              <s:State name="disabled" />
              <s:State name="normalAndMaximized" stateGroups="maximizedGroup" />
              <s:State name="disabledAndMaximized" stateGroups="maximizedGroup" />
          </s:states>

<!-- fill -->
          <!--- Defines the background color of the skin. -->
          <s:Rect id="backgroundRect"  left="0" right="0" top="0" bottom="1" radiusX="0" radiusY="0" >

<s:fill>
                      <s:BitmapFill source="@Embed('skins/defaults/img/footerBg.png')" fillMode="repeat" />
                  </s:fill>

</s:Rect>

</s:SparkSkin>

As soon as I remove the skin class the text label object reappears!

Thank you for reading

David

• 1. Re: Help with skinning
          m1kal_ Level 2

Hi,

Here my response:

1- What?

2- Why?

3- Other solution?

What ?

You have to add this part in your skin :

<s:Group id="contentGroup" left="0" right="0" top="0" bottom="0" minWidth="0" minHeight="0">

<s:layout>

<s:BasicLayout/>

</s:layout>