7 Replies Latest reply on May 23, 2011 7:17 PM by Ned Murphy

Replicating Handwriting: how?

Mettaphorica

Hi all

I am new to Flash, and am creating my first banner. I have handwriting jpgs that I want to use as part of my animation. How can I get these into Flash?I played with the  "Trace" tool, (though I don't really know how to use it) but the replica was terrible. All help appreciated.

thanks

cheers

Donna

• 1. Re: Replicating Handwriting: how?
          Ned Murphy Adobe Community Professional & MVP

If you want to bring the jpegs into Flash, just import them using the File -> Import option in the toolbar.  If the images are a series and are named numerically (img1.jpg, img2.jpg,img3.jpg, etc) it will normally recognize this and ask if you want to import the set.

• 2. Re: Replicating Handwriting: how?
            Mettaphorica Level 1

Hi

Thanks for that. Am having a problem with it, though. Flash is saying it's unable to import because of a problem reading them. That's all it says.  I've tried a couple of them, and they all have the same message. Should I convert the files to another format and try again? (theyre also only small, about 110kb, so it's not like they're over sized). Any other solutions?

thanks again

cheers

Donna

• 3. Re: Replicating Handwriting: how?

If you want to have the effect of handwriting, then a couple of ways to do it involve either

-  frame by frame animation, where each frame you add a portion of the text (easiest to do working backwards, removing a bit in each frame, then reverse the frames).  This pretty much requires that you have to be able to write the text on the stage in Flash with your mouse.

- tweening masks/covers to gradually expose the writing.  This approach will work with either an image or a mouse-written graphic.  But it can get a bit tricky at times, requiring several layers to manage some of the turns, like letters that require crossing over themselves (e's, t's, etc)

• 4. Re: Replicating Handwriting: how?