6 Replies Latest reply on Jun 2, 2011 10:39 PM by SupaSurisu

Stop Automatic Removal of Background Color for .mov files

SupaSurisu

Hi guys, I'm a rookie to Adobe Premier, but I have a 3.2 ghz processor and 14 GB of memory.  I am trying to edit together a project I am animating in Maya.  I am sequencing TARGA image files into .MOV files with Quicktime Pro and importing the .MOVs into Premier Elements.  The blue sky in the background of each clip is automatically replaced with black when I import and/or render it with Premier.  The sky is blue when I play individual clips in Quicktime or other players, but Premier (and Final Cut) always turns it black as though I enabled a chroma key, though I did not.  I have considered just putting in a blue background matte, but then I lose the smooth gradient of the sky.  Could it have something to do with the alpha channel?  Does anyone have any tips?  Thank you very much!

• 1. Re: Stop Automatic Removal of Background Color for .mov files
          Steve Grisetti Adobe Community Professional

It sounds like you're indavertantly Videomerging your clips.

When you add your video to your project's timeline, you quite likely see either a pop-up window offering to Smart Fix your video and/or a pop-up window offering to apply Videomerge. Make sure you do not select the Videomerge option.

If you're not seeing this box, you may have turned on the option to Always Videomerge.

To turn this off, go to Edit/Preferences and check the option to Show All Do Not Show Messages. Then, next time you add a clip and you see the Videomerge option, select No and then click the Do Not Show option to permanently turn this automatic feature off.

Lots more information on stuff like this in my books as well as in my 8-part Basic Training tutorial series at Premiere Elements support site Muvipix.com.

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Stop Automatic Removal of Background Color for .mov files
            SupaSurisu Level 1