3 Replies Latest reply on May 26, 2011 1:18 PM by UbuntuPenguin

Second Level Caching

Michelle5002 Level 1

I am new to flex.  I created one app which has some views.  Which calls a web service to get data from my database.  When I run this app, as its waiting for the data, a timer icon comes up indicating its waiting.  I also implemented a Gantt Chart which was written for the most part with Actionscript.  I noticed it never gives me that timer and if the data is not loaded, it just does not load it.  My real question is what settings did the gantt chart set so it no longer waits.

Here is the issue.  I have class A  which contains a list of Class B objects.  If in my app, I instantiate a new Class B object and persist it, I noticed that when I reload the app the new Class B object is no longer listed in my Class A object.  I did some reading and learned this had something to do with Second Level Cache.  Because I updated the Class B, the Class A was not updated and so when I reloaded the App, the App just got what was in Cache which was the old Class A object containing the old list of Class B objects. Well, I turned off Second Level Cache and walla, my problem went away.  Cool.  Oh, wait, when I loaded the Gantt Chart, it no longer would load the data.  It didnt wait for it.  So, when I turned the Second Level Cache back on, now my Gantt Chart loaded the data on the second refresh because now the data was in L2 Cache.  So, now I am wondering how to solve my problem.  One idea was to turn off or no whatever is turned off or on in my Gantt chart so it does wait for the data.  But I didnt write the Gantt Chart code and I am too new to know how to do this.  Would Someone help me with this?

• 1. Re: Second Level Caching
          UbuntuPenguin Level 4

I don't really understand what your problem is.  But it sounds like this is an issue with your backend ORM, not so much a Flex issue.

• 2. Re: Second Level Caching
            Michelle5002 Level 1