19 Replies Latest reply on May 25, 2011 8:51 PM by the_wine_snob

File/Codec problem

rdoutdoors

Hey guys,

I have Premiere Elements 8. I've been using this program for about 8 months without any trouble. All my files and videos are stored on an external hard drive. I went to capture some footage about 2 weeks ago and didn't have any trouble with the files. However, now when I go to open up a project, it asks where are the files are (as if they aren't on the program) and when I select the file from my hard drive, then try to open it in elements, it says "file type not supported or the required codec is not installed". This is on every single file (video, picture, audio) that I have on that program. I can't open anything up at all. Any help!!!!?????

• 1. Re: File/Codec problem
          Steve Grisetti Adobe Community Professional

What is the file format of the video and how are you trying to get these video clips into your project?

Did you use Premiere Elements to get these files from your camcorder to your computer? What kind of camcorder did this video come from?

Video on an external drive often get "lost" by the program because Windows sometimes assigns a different drive letter to the drive when you plug it in. You can can prevent this by permanently mapping your drive as part of your computer. How you do this depends on your operating system. Since I don't know your operating system, I can't offer specifics -- but, basically, you need to tell your computer to permanently assign a drive letter to your external hard drive.

• 2. Re: File/Codec problem
            rdoutdoors Level 1

File formats are .mpeg, .avi and .mov for videos, .wav and .mpeg4 for audio and

.png/.jpeg for still pictures. The files have all been "saved" in the program,

but when I go to open them, it wants me to find them on my hard drive and then

won't open or recognize them.

Yes, all the video files were captured using Premiere Elements. They came from a