9 Replies Latest reply on Aug 16, 2006 3:55 PM by Newsgroup_User

Help! Removed a site and all my files are gone.

karaelise
      I am new to dreamweaver, was having trouble setting up my ftp. i thought i'd remove the site that was in a constant connect to server cycle and set up a new site with my files. but now all of the files associated with the site are completely gone from my computer. they aren't in the trash or anything. the dreamweaver help window says it will remove the site but not the files. so i don't know what happened. any ideas? have i lost my website forever?
      thanks.
        • 1. Re: Help! Removed a site and all my files are gone.
          Level 7
          about the only way this could happen would be if the files were never on
          your computer.

did you use a live ftp connection to edit the files on the server, without
          creating a Local Site Folder?

Even then, afaik- the files are still on the remote server.
          Define a regular FTP connect to the remote hosting and see if they are
          there.

• 2. Re: Help! Removed a site and all my files are gone.
            Level 7
            If your original site was set up as an FTP site, then your files are still
            'there', but "there" is on the server rather than your local site.

Create a new site as a SITE not as an FTP / RDS site. Define a local site,
            and enter your FTP info. Then connect to the remote site - I'll bet you
            find your files there.

--
            Murray --- ICQ 71997575
            Adobe Community Expert
            (If you *MUST* email me, don't LAUGH when you do so!)
            ==================
            http://www.dreamweavermx-templates.com - Template Triage!
            http://www.projectseven.com/go - DW FAQs, Tutorials & Resources
            http://www.dwfaq.com - DW FAQs, Tutorials & Resources
            http://www.macromedia.com/support/search/ - Macromedia (MM) Technotes
            ==================