7 Replies Latest reply on May 27, 2011 4:33 AM by Robert J. Johnston

Mixing D3100 1080p 24fps with Gopro hero 1080p30fps

thomhero

Hey all,

I want to shoot constant POV Video with my Gopro hero hd, and then capture some unique stuff with my Nikon
      D3100 and combine them in one project using Premiere Elements 9.  If I set them both to 1080p, then the Gopro is 30fps, and the Nikon 24fps.  I can match them both up at 720p 30fps, but the Gopro has a field of view that is too wide for my taste at that setting, and I hate giving up the quality.  Not sure about how to handle audio yet, but will eventually use a separate audio recorder at some point.

gspot screenshots:

Gopro:

Capture.PNG

Nikon:

capture 2.PNG

I hope to share these videos on Vimeo HD. I am a novice, and I am not sure what effect converting a clip to a differant fps would have, and I am not sure is this is necessary. Any advice would be appreciated.

Thom

• 1. Re: Mixing D3100 1080p 24fps with Gopro hero 1080p30fps
          the_wine_snob Level 9

Thom,

Welcome to the forum.

Mixing footage, and especially with different Frame Rates, almost always leads to issues. However, you could do a test Project, with each camera's footage, and see what the output looks like.

About the best that one can do is to convert one set of footage, to match the other. There are several freeware programs that will do this, but you might also have luck doing it with PrE, by creating two separate Projects, that match each camera's footage. Edit, as is needed, then Export one Project to a format that matches the other camera's Project, Import that output file, and finish editing.

This ARTICLE might also provide some tips on Go-Pro footage.

Good luck,

Hunt

• 2. Re: Mixing D3100 1080p 24fps with Gopro hero 1080p30fps
            Steve Grisetti Adobe Community Professional