4 Replies Latest reply on May 27, 2011 1:32 PM by maxwyss

Validating Required Fields before Printing

wcendro1

I am relatively new to using Acrobat.  We are using Acrobat 9 Std to create PDFs that need to make the user complete Required fields before the form is printed.  Is there an easy script to be able to accomplish this?

Our branches are using Acrobat Reader to complete and print the forms...not sure if that makes a difference.

Will

• 1. Re: Validating Required Fields before Printing
          gkaiseril MVP & Adobe Community Professional

No, it is all custom coding since you need to decide what you want to do for a required field not being completed and what to do after you identify all incomplete required fields.

You should also consider how you want to handle those instances when the user uses the print icon or prints through the menu bar.

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Validating Required Fields before letting user move to next field
            wcendro1 Level 1

I thought about this post more last night and needed to change it because I do need to allow for our branches to print blanks of the form for certain situations.

Before pursuing the validation before printing, I was trying to display an error message if a required field was left blank before moving to the next field.  I have tried the following scripts:

if(!event.target.valueAsString) {

app.alert("This field must be complete. Please enter the Customer's Name", 3);

}

This script worked as I used it with 'On Blur', but after displaying the error message it went to the next field.  Then trying to back to the name field, threw up the error message for the next field (I have several fields in a row that are required).

f=getField(event.target.name)

if(f.value.length==0)

{

f.setFocus()

app.alert("This field must be complete. Please enter the Customer's Name")

}