8 Replies Latest reply on May 28, 2011 11:25 AM by Bill Gehrke

New System Build For Premiere 5.5 Looking For Advice

PhotoMaster-6584585 Level 1

Hi there, this is my first time on here and it looks like this is the best place for advice.

So I've been tasked to build a new computer for a client for Premiere 5.5. He's running a very basic studio setup and his main complaint is how it takes

such a long time to render video. He told me it takes him about 6 hours to render a 40 minute sequence to MPEG2 standard(this is what he mostly renders as). I did some playing around and it turns out that his current system is relatively good but it uses a HD 6990 as its GPU(which can't even take advantage of Premier's hardware rendering capability!)

Now initially I was going to go the all SSD route with a a budget of about $2500 or so. However, after doing some reading on here, I've decided that this

isn't necessarily the best way. So I will only run the OS of an SSD. Here is what I have so far:

PROCESSOR:

Intel Core i7-2600K Quad-Core Socket LGA1155, 3.40Ghz, 8MB L3 Cache

(I will overclock this as much as possilbe with the Noctua cooler)

MOTHERBOARD:

Asus P8Z68-V Pro Socket 1155 Intel Z68 Chipset

RAM:

G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series DDR3 1600MHz (PC3-12800) 16GB (4x4GB) Dual Channel Kit

VIDEO CARD:

EVGA GeForce GTX 570 HD Superclocked 1280MB GDDR5 (012-P3-1573-AR) nVidia GeForce GTX 570Chipset(797MHz) 1280MB GDDR5 Memory(3900MHz)

POWER SUPPLY:

OCZ ZX Series 1000W Fully Modular 80 Plus Gold Certified Power Supply (OCZ-ZX1000W)

HARD DRIVES:

OCZ Vertex 2 SATA II 2.5" 120GB Solid State Drive (OPERATING SYSTEM DISK)

Western Digital VelociRaptor (WD3000HLFS) 300GB SATA II 10000RPM 16MB x2 (Project Disk Run in RAID 0)

Western Digital VelociRaptor (WD3000HLFS) 300GB SATA II 10000RPM 16MB x2 (Output Disk Run in RAID 0)

CPU COOLER:

Noctua NH-D14 Six Heatpipe Dual Radiator CPU Cooler

OPTICAL DRIVE:

ASUS DRW-24B1ST Black SATA