5 Replies Latest reply on Nov 22, 2011 6:41 AM by Frustrated in AZ

Throwing money away because of ADE...

MCCPC

Ok. Here's my problem.

I'm new to this whole "eBook" thing. I just got this little 5" Coby MP957 MP4/MP3 player. I was so happy to see it supports eBooks too, because I'm going on a trip but can't take my fav. books with- no space. The Coby says it supports .epub and .pdf files. So I thought, great! I'll buy e-copies of my favorite books, load them in the device & have them with me! Well, I've blown a bunch of money now, on several different sites, and I CAN'T. READ. THEM.

What really ticks me off is that all of the sites I have purchased from (aside from the fist one) do not say that the books are in .acsm (ADE) format. So I think I'm buying a .pdf/.epub book only to find out (after I shell out the cash) that I'm buying something I cannot and will not ever be able to use. Yes, I know I can read them on my computer. But my computer can't leave my house, and I already have paperback copies of the books, so really... it's just a total waste.

My question is: Where on earth can I buy .pdf/.epub eBooks that DO NOT require ADE????? I would like to buy several Terry Goodkind books, in .pdf or .epub and actually be able to read them. Is it even possible, or am I looking for something that simply dose not exist?

I think I would have been better off just typing out the books by hand

• 1. Re: Throwing money away because of ADE...
          remltr

Reading your post has me questioning if you know that the acsm file is not the book. It is the ticket or link to download the epub or epdf file with.

The epub or epdf file is stored on your computer after you download it. Depending on whether you are on a mac of pc it will be in some sort of documents folder. I don't know if your reader is compatible with ADE. I have a kindle so I don't have the capability to interface with it from ADE.