6 Replies Latest reply on May 30, 2011 8:39 PM by moongod.gao

About Flash P2P live streaming from non-webcam sources

moongod.gao

Hello, I am a university student. Our lab is attempting to work on a p2p live streaming using flash p2p features. The media source is not from a webcam but a file from a certain server, which is not directly supported by any of the 4 methods flash player offers(posting, direct routing , object replication,and multicast.) As some of the forum threads mentioned, our method is to use NetStream.publish() a stream and use send("callbackname", data)  to all subscribers that have joined in a NetGroup. So we can use p2p transmission. Now here are our questions:

1. We know from MAX 2009 that flash p2p camera video multicasting implements pull-push mechanism inside which makes full use of p2p features like buffer map exchange. If we use NetStream.send() API to send non-webcam source data, will it also make use of this pull-push mechanism to spread data among all peers(subscribers) with proper data exchange?

or more detailedly,

I saw the P2P Gaming Libs at flashrealtime.com. It uses DIRECT_CONNECTIONS when creating publish-used NetStream in order to send data with lowest latency. My question is if I do not use DIRECT_CONNECTIONS, than when the NetGroup grow large (1000), will those peers that are not direct neighbors to the publisher in the same group relay data to each other using pull-push via buffer map?