6 Replies Latest reply on May 31, 2011 4:13 PM by Steve Grisetti

How to separate Audio tracks

Captiv8r Adobe Community Professional & MVP

Hi there

Yes, I know I'm a community expert so you mighty be wondering why one would be asking here, but not for Premeire Elements. This app is new to me!

I have a clip I've inserted into PE that was recorded with some odd stereo effect. I'm hoping there is an easy way to listen to each side of the stereo independently, decide which is the more pleasing of the two, then remove either the left channel or the right and fill in the opposite channel with the same audio.

I've unlinked the audio from the video but am unsure how to proceed from there.

Thanks in advance for any insight!

Cheers... Rick

• 1. Re: How to separate Audio tracks
          the_wine_snob Level 9

Hello Rick,

For what you want to do, I would use an audio-editing program, like Adobe Audition, or even the great free Audacity.

PrE, while it has some nifty Audio capabilities, is a bit limited. In AV file editing, the Audio is assumed to be a mix-down to stereo streams. It will Import mono/1-channel streams nicely, but does not offer a full compliment of Tools to work with those, beyond the "usual suspects." A good split might take a lot of work in PrE.

Audition can easily let you Solo a channel, and then Save_As (Export) to a mono/1-channel file, with just the stream that you decide on. I believe that Audacity makes it easy too, but use Audition for most things Audio, so am not an expert with Audacity. Still, it's a small program, but very powerful and best of all, its FREE!

Good luck, and let us know how well the project goes.

Hunt

• 2. Re: How to separate Audio tracks

Thanks for the pointer, Hunt! I'll have to check out Audition or maybe even Soundbooth?

I'm admittedly stuck, however. How does one go about getting the audio actually out of PE and into the other app? Copy/Paste, or Export somehow?