8 Replies Latest reply on Jun 4, 2011 8:51 AM by the_wine_snob

Trouble with Codecs in PE8

Escapist_Soul

So I've been using Premiere Elements 8 since August of 2010 and haven't encountered this problem up until a couple weeks ago. I'm not sure what happened, or how to fix it. I'm not a huge techie so I operate with Windows 7 on a 2010 Sony Vaio VGN-NW350F.

I do a lot of video editing and upoading to youtube. I just use a basic FlipCam that saves in an .MP4 video format. I have always been using this same camera and file type. A couple weeks ago, I went about my normal importing routine and tried pulling the video files from the clipboard that holds all the imported video files onto the timeline. But as soon as I try to, an error message appears that says "This type of file is not supported, or the required codec is not installed". When I double click the file on the clipboard, it opens up windows explorer and says "where is the file *filename*?" I select the file, and try the process over again, but it just repeats the error.

The first time it happened, it seemed to only be with my original .MP4 file format that the error occured, so I downloaded a file converter and was able to use my video files after converting them to .wmv. But now, no file type seems to work.

I've done nothing out of my usual routine since the last time I used the program without any errors. I JUST tried uninstalling and re-installing the program, but that didn't seem to work. So I'm at a loss of what to do.

• 1. Re: Trouble with Codecs in PE8
          Steve Grisetti Adobe Community Professional

Flip camcorder video was not supported natively by the program until version 9, Soul.

The program had apparently figured out some hybrid solution in your case -- but usually Flip video in version 8 is very problematic. (Though it may help if you ensure you have the latest version of Quicktime.)