7 Replies Latest reply on Jun 3, 2011 8:26 AM by the_wine_snob

Problem with "transitions" in PS Elements 9

bison63

I am a long time Roxio user, but recently purchased PS Elements 9. I find some things vastly superior, while other things seem to be a severe step in the wrong direction. At first glance "transitions" fit into the latter category. My problem is that if I use a simple transition such as a "cross dissolve" the transition is not visible at all, even if I lengthen the duraton to a lengthy 10 seconds. I'm hoping that the problem is simply  that I am new to PSE and that I am not doing somthing correctly. BTW, if I use a transition such as a page turn, it works fine, which only makes the invisibility of the dissolve all the more puzzling.

• 1. Re: Problem with "transitions" in PS Elements 9
          Steve Grisetti Adobe Community Professional

Are you placing the transition between two distinctly different clips?

If you simply slice a clip and then put a cross-dissolve transition over the cut, you're just transitioning from a clip to itself, so you won't see anything. Is that the case in your situation?

Is there a indicator between the clips indicating the transition? (I'm assuming so, since you say you've lengthened the transition to 10 seconds.) Have you ensured you're working in Timeline mode?

Otherwise, can you explain in more detail what you're doing and what  you're not seeing? Better yet, can you post a screen capture of your  timeline so we can see it ourselves?

• 2. Re: Problem with "transitions" in PS Elements 9
            bison63 Level 1