11 Replies Latest reply on Jun 5, 2011 10:39 PM by mckayk_777

How long does it take to learn InDesign?

Adobe User 3000

I was an expert using PageMaker 15 years ago and have just purchased the CS Suite along with 3rd party learning software that covers each component.  I know the answer to this question depends on the individual, including your general computer/software/design capabilities, however I am interested in your opinions.  How long did it take you to learn the InDesign package?  How long have you heard it taking others to learn the package?  Also, you may have a viewpoint on how long it takes to get a basic understanding versus creating more sophisticated documents.  Thank You.

• 1. Re: How long does it take to learn InDesign?
          Stix Hart Level 5

The main things it depends on is what you are using it for and how much you are using it.

I would say that with a few hours a day on page layout type tasks you'll be able to do most if you what you want in a few weeks and up to speed in a few months, given you are familiar with the software genre.  There's some similarities with Pagemaker, if you google around you should be able to find some pretty good resources, most of them will be for older versions but don't let that put you off, the core functions of Indesign haven't changed much at all over the years, I was looking at a book I bought back with CS2 the other day and was surprised at how familiar it all looked.

• 2. Re: How long does it take to learn InDesign?
            BobLevine MVP & Adobe Community Professional

Been using InDesign since 1999 and still learning.

Buy Sandee Cohen's Visual Quick Start Guide: http://amzn.to/iN6HRc and consider a subscription to Lynda.com. This link will get a free seven day trial: http://bit.ly/fcGpiI

Hope that helps,

Bob

• 3. Re: How long does it take to learn InDesign?
              Peter Spier Most Valuable Participant (Moderator)